Select one of the keywords
The Shadow of the Wolf: Stepping Stones    by Gloria Whelan & Tony Meers order for
Shadow of the Wolf
by Gloria Whelan
Order:  USA  Can
Random House, 1997 (1997)
Hardcover, Paperback
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Shadow of the Wolf follows Next Spring an Oriole and Night of the Full Moon, continuing the adventures of thirteen-year-old Libby Mitchell (from a pioneering family in Michigan) and her best friend, the Potawatomi girl she calls Fawn.

It's Fall 1841 and the Mitchells leave Saginaw for the northern woods and a house overlooking Lake Michigan. Libby is thrilled that she'll be reunited with Fawn whose family previously moved north to join the Ottawa people. Though a timber company tries to hire Libby's Papa (a surveyor) he chooses to work for the Indians instead.

Libby and Fawn happily spend every free moment together. When a wolf is caught in a trap, they quarrel. Libby wants to free it, while Fawn feels it should be killed for its fur, a common practice amongst her people. Fawn reluctantly does what Libby asks, and later the wolf returns the favor when the two are lost in a snowstorm.

Mr. Mitchell helps the Indians foil those after their land, while Libby enjoys working with Fawn, Christmas celebrations, and an Indian wedding. And her Mama paints watercolors in which 'the sky and the lake melted in one blue puddle.'

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews