Select one of the keywords
Shards of Time: Nightrunner    by Lynn Flewelling order for
Shards of Time
by Lynn Flewelling
Order:  USA  Can
Del Rey, 2014 (2014)
Paperback, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Shards of Time is the seventh and last book in Lynn Flewelling's popular Nightrunner series. I have to admit that I have not read any of the earlier entries in the series (though I very mcuh enjoyed the author's excellent and unusual trilogy that began with The Bone Doll's Twin, set in the same fantasy world). Do not try to read this episode if you have not read the earlier ones, as a great deal of knowledge of personalities and back stories is assumed.

Essentially Shards of Time is a combination of locked room mystery, horror, and ghost story. It seems that the governor of the sacred island of Korous and his mistress have been bloodily slaughtered in a closed room that was barred from the inside. Guards who witnessed the attack have gone mad and one has disappeared. There have been numerous other disappearances and the island has long been reputed to be haunted.

The queen dispatches a team to investigate - nightrunners Alec and Seregil (to whom she also gives an estate on the island), wizard Thero and his young apprentice Mika, and the queen's cousin Klia with her guard. Seregil suffers nightmares even before they leave. And Klia has a secret that she's keeping from her lover Thero.

Ghosts are everywhere. There are also haunted ruins, and a terrifyingly powerful ancient necromancer to be overcome. Young Mika has his own adventures, while Klia must summon all her strength and courage to survive what she faces in an alternate realm of magic. This powerful ending to a long running series concludes fittingly with 'Luck in the Shadows'.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Fantasy books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews