Select one of the keywords
Asian Art: Come Look With Me    by Kimberly Lane order for
Asian Art
by Kimberly Lane
Order:  USA  Can
Charlesbridge, 2013 (2013)
* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

Delve into Asian art by taking a close look at twelve masterpieces that trace artistic traditions through time and across cultures. The works in this collection include a handscroll painting, Elegant Gathering in the Apricot Garden by Xie Huan, a bird and flower painting by Hua Yen entitled The Red Bird, and Jellyfish Eyes MAX & Shimon in the Strange Forest, a 2004 work by Takashi Murakami.

Along with the paintings you'll also find an ivory statue of the seated image of Ganesha from India, a stone sculpture of the crowned Buddha Shakyamuni, a woodcut of three horsemen by Katsushika Hoksai and an inlaid, celadon glazed, porcelain vase from the Koryo period.

Besides a full page representation of each work of art, there is an accompanying page that includes a brief biography of the artist, notes on the art form and its symbolism and/or information about the time period. At the top of the page you'll also find a series of questions that are intended to engage the reader and serve as the basis for a discussion about the accompanying art.

This is the ideal way of not only introducing a young reader to various types of art but also beginning a dialogue about individual paintings or ceramic pieces. There are now a dozen titles in the Come Look With Me series and these books will help teachers and parents develop an appreciation for and understanding of art in their students or children.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews