Select one of the keywords
Brass Dragon Codex    by R. D. Henham order for
Brass Dragon Codex
by R. D. Henham
Order:  USA  Can
Mirrorstone, 2009 (2009)
* *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

R. D. Henham's Brass Dragon Codex tells the story of an orphaned Brass Dragon, Kyani (aka Tumbleweed) who loves to talk. Unfortunately, now that his parents have been killed by a Blue Dragon, he is lonely and has no one to talk to. When Hector, a gnome, is attacked by centipedes not far from Tumbleweed's cave, the young dragon takes the gnome in and tries to keep him from leaving.

Hector, though, must finish his Life Quest to make a communication device. In fact, that is what he was doing in the desert stringing up wire for his telegraph-like machine that will show the residents of Kaal how wrong they were to kick him out. Eventually Hector convinces Tumbleweed to help him finish his task, but there are more dangers outside the cave than either creature could have imagined.

Brass Dragon Codex is a fun fantasy that will delight middle readers. Aside from being a mini epic fantasy, it also contains a valuable message about communication, which is a little advanced for a middle reader book. Tumbleweed is a fun-loving, talkative little dragon with whom readers will fall in love.

Hector is also an admirable character as he tries to prove his invention is not a dud. Amber, Hector's best friend, proves to be a daring heroine who will appeal to young female readers. While Brass Dragon Codex is the third in R. D. Henham's Dragon Codex series, it can be read as a standalone, as each volume focuses on the complete story of one dragon.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews