Select one of the keywords
Prodigal Son: Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Vol. 1    by Dean Koontz, Chuck Dixon & Brett Booth order for
Prodigal Son
by Dean Koontz
Order:  USA  Can
Del Rey, 2009 (2009)

* * *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

Dean Koontz's Frankenstein: Prodigal Son, telling the story of Deucalion and his fight against his maker, is a thrill ride from start to finish. Deucalion has been around for centuries, living in the shadows, a monster of his master's creation. After a prophetic dream, Deucalion heads to New Orleans, the home of Victor Helios, his creator.

A recent serial killer has caught his eye a murderer who is killing people for their parts. The police are also after the serial killer, and soon come to realize they may be dealing with two: one who kills women for external parts and another who kills men for internal parts. The medical examiner has also found something odd one of the male victims had duplicate organs. The police do not know what this means, but Deucalion does: this man was also made by Helios.

Dean Koontz's Frankenstein: Prodigal Son is a classic horror novel mixed with a contemporary crime drama. The action never stops as the characters slowly reveal themselves and their true intentions. The artwork complements the mystery and suspense while really bringing out some of the horror. By the end of volume one, mysteries have just come to the forefront and nothing is resolved, a perfect cliffhanger setting the scene for the next volume.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Fantasy books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews