Select one of the keywords
Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle: Evolution    by R. M. Wilburn order for
Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle
by R. M. Wilburn
Order:  USA  Can
Gabby Cat, 2008 (2008)

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

R. M. Wilburn's Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle: Evolution is the first book I have ever seen in a series that was a two-parter. But that should not really surprise me since In Search of the Nexus is such a unique YA fantasy/adventure series.

After defeating Dark Lord Electrocucius, Buggy Crenshaw is visited by a strange, cryptic bird. Before she and her brother can confirm that it was the Rebel Phoenix Alabaster, the Sentinel of the Dimensional Door, earthquakes bring evil plants that attempt to take over Lloyd's Hollow. Still in her pajamas, Buggy runs to the woods to meet her friends, armed only with the Adventure's Compass, a jar of swamp moss, a bag of Angel Spurs (or Devil Horns), and a riddle-speaking frog named Filly, all given to her by her mother. Once secure in their secret cabin, Buggy, Veronica, and Sid realize that Evil Empress Eartha Naturalus (aka Wicked Mother Nature) is attempting to break her imprisonment from behind the Dimensional Door. Normally, the door would hold her, but the Rebel Phoenix Alabaster has gone off to die. Being a phoenix, he will rise again, but only if his ashes are undisturbed. As time speeds up, the race is on for Buggy and her friends to once again save the world.

Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle: Evolution starts off fast, but it hits a plateau once the three arrive at the cabin. The majority of Part Two takes place in the cabin as the three watch what is happening outside and formulate plans. While this is important to the plot, it takes away from the adventure, but Wilburn does give us more insight into the characters, especially Veronica. However, once they leave the safety of the cabin, the adventure is back in full-force with a cliffhanger ending that will leave readers salivating for the conclusion in Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle: Revolution.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews