Select one of the keywords
The Relentless Moon: Lady Astronaut #3    by Mary Robinette Kowal order for
Relentless Moon
by Mary Robinette Kowal
Order:  USA  Can
Tor, 2020 (2020)
Hardcover, Softcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Relentless Moon follows The Calculating Stars and The Fated Sky as the third in Mary Robinette Kowal's feminist SF series, Lady Astronaut. It would be best to read the episodes in order, as there are references back to previous characters and events.

The series started with a meteorite strike that destroyed most of east coast U.S.A. in 1952 and initiated catastrophic climate change, that would eventually make Earth uninhabitable for humanity. Massive resources were spent on an accelerated space colonization program.

As The Relentless Moon opens, Earth First saboteurs have been attacking the space program. Famed Lady Astronaut Elma York is en route to Mars, but this episode focuses on her friend (and fellow astronaut), Nicole Wargin. Nicole's beloved husband Kenneth is Governor of Kansas, and about to make a run for President.

Nevertheless, Nicole heads up to the fledgling moon colony, hoping to use her considerable skills there. She's assigned as personal secretary to the Lunar Colony Administrator, but is also briefed on threats to the colony. Of course, the terrorists keep up their efforts - on Earth and in space.

It's an exciting read, with plenty of action. Our heroine does manage to keep the moon colony going, and she is finally assigned a role that matches her extraordinary talents.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more SF books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews