Select one of the keywords
The Crone's Jewels: Pantheons    by E. J. Dabel order for
Crone's Jewels
by E. J. Dabel
Order:  USA  Can
Sea Lion, 2013 (2013)
* *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

The third installment in E. J. Dabel's Pantheons series, The Crone's Jewels, takes a slightly different path than the first two. At the end of The Game of the Gods, Isiah Marshall breaks into seven clones. The Crone's Jewels follows the first clone as he travels to Tartarus with Amanda Golden to discover the fate of Cronos. Along the way, he must contend with gods from the Norse, Aztec, and Japanese pantheons, as well as some dwarves and Baba Yaga.

What makes The Crone's Jewels different from the first two Pantheons novels is that Dabel chooses to focus on only three pantheons Norse, Aztec, and Japanese allowing the reader to learn more about the mythology of these cultures. It was also interesting to see not just mythology, but folklore, too, in the story. However, there seems to be more narration by these gods, and it is very hard to keep them all straight, and this makes the story hard to follow, especially since the plot is not as strong as in the first two novels.

E. J. Dabel's Pantheons series is a unique take on all world mythology, and I am interested to see which pantheons he focuses on next.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews