Select one of the keywords
Alphatudes: The Alphabet of Gratitude    by Michele Wahlder order for
by Michele Wahlder
Order:  USA  Can
Life Possibilities, 2010 (2010)
* * *   Reviewed by Leslie McKee

In her first book, Michele Wahlder (an internationally known life coach, counselor and speaker) hopes to share her secret to living a more joyful life: gratitude. She uses the term alphatude and describes it as 'a person, place or thing for which one alphabetically expresses gratitude.' An alphatude is a different way to look at life's daily challenges, and to create a positive mindset, decrease worry and increase happiness. Wahlder reminds the reader that being grateful is a choice that must be made daily. The first step in changing your life is to change your way of thinking.

Alphatudes features 26 themes - one for each letter of the alphabet. Some of the themes included are: Choices (ee choose our attitude, actions and responses and they shape our destiny); Forgiveness (while we may not forget a grievance, we need to forgive others and ourselves); Laughter (it releases endorphins, which increase healing and decrease pain); Music (a form of expression that goes beyond words); Touch (its restorative powers decrease stress and worry); and ZZZ (sleep provides 'physical restoration, mental rejuvination and spiritual renewal', while a lack of sleep can lead to an increased stress level.)

Alphatudes is an interesting concept that is simple and can be used by anyone. Appropriate prayers and quotations, and beautiful illustrations accompany the 26 themes. It is never too late to change one's focus on life and Alphatudes can help do that.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more NonFiction books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews