Select one of the keywords
Trick or Treat: A Corinna Chapman Mystery    by Kerry Greenwood order for
Trick or Treat
by Kerry Greenwood
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2009 (2009)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Trick or Treat, by prodigious author Kerry Greenwood, is the fourth in her series featuring baker extraordinaire Corinna Chapman. Corinna's bake shop, Earthly Delights, runs well with the help of her staff: sixteen-year-old ex-junkie Jason and two interchangeable shop girls (Kylie and Gossamer) who work for Corinnna while pursuing acting careers.

Corinna lives in an eclectic apartment with beguiling tenants who co-exist in complete harmony. They look out for each other and enjoy each other's company. When a conglomerate, Fresh Best, opens a bake shop just up the alley from Earthly Delights, Corinna's friends counsel her and tell her not to worry. Her goods might be more expensive but they are far superior to those of the new guy on the block.

When people start showing up in the alley behind Corinna's shop exhibiting signs of dementia, the police arrive on the scene. Witches figure prominently in this otherwise tranquil location in Melbourne, Australia. On the good side, Corinna has a boyfriend who seems besotted with her, even though she's obese, tracksuit wearing and a touch older than he is. When an old friend (gorgeous and blonde) shows up, Corinna feels threatened.

The plot moves on with alacrity and loads of humor, as Corinna puts her sleuthing skills to work. This series is by the same author as the Phryne Fisher books. Phryne is a little more promiscuous than Corinna but just as much a detective. She and Corinna gather their friends and accomplices around them to win the day. Both series offer good reading.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews