Select one of the keywords
According to Their Deeds    by Paul Robertson order for
According to Their Deeds
by Paul Robertson
Order:  USA  Can
Bethany, 2009 (2009)

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Tim Davis

When the profoundly affecting novel According to Their Deeds begins, Charles Beale has just made another acquisition for his rare book shop in Alexandria, Virginia. His winning bid at an estate auction means that Charles is now the owner of a set of books once owned by a man murdered during a burglary of his home.

One book, though, opens up an intriguing series of problems for Beale - and for others. The book's deceased owner was someone who had important connections with the power-brokers of Washington, and he had been a respected collector of expensive antiques, but - beyond belief - one of the books had been atrociously defaced.

Within the mutilated book, Beale discovers various cryptic documents that will ultimately reveal troublesome secrets about important people. If those secrets are revealed, Charles knows that people will be destroyed.

Unfortunately for Charles and his wife, he is not the only person who knows about what was hidden inside the damaged book. Moreover, others who know about the secrets have ruthless plans, and Charles and his wife face imminent danger and gut-wrenching decisions. In particular, as is noted on the book's cover, Charles must come to grips with an important question: 'Should one mistake really cost you everything?'

And so it goes that building upon that premise, According to Their Deeds unfolds as a suspense-filled, Christian-themed tale in which justice and mercy become something more than abstractions in a very serious game of life and death.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews