Select one of the keywords
The Mark of the Pasha: A Mamur Zapt Mystery    by Michael Pearce order for
Mark of the Pasha
by Michael Pearce
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Gareth Cadwallader Owen is the Mamur Zapt, or Head of the Khedive's Secret Police, in Cairo, Egypt at the end of the Great War the War to End All Wars. Britain was still high profile in Egypt at that time, causing much dissent among the natives. Understandably so. But needing the money that Britain spent in Egypt the rebels were working underground to accomplish their goal of seeing the last of the English.

A bomb plot is foiled one that would have probably killed the Khedive and any one else around him, including innocent bystanders - as a planned procession marches by. Owen is able to forestall the bombing but must find those responsible if anyone is to feel safe again.

The Mark of the Pasha is the sixteenth of this intriguing series by Michael Pearce. The author takes readers into the back streets and public office buildings of Cairo, introducing us to the characters we might find there. The underlying tension of that time is palpable as people's loyalties shift from day to day. The tension builds as Owen investigates, even going into the local bath houses and talking to the masseurs. This fascinating Mamur Zapt Mystery series captures the imagination.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews