Select one of the keywords
Darkling    by Yasmine Galenorn order for
by Yasmine Galenorn
Order:  USA  Can
Berkley, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

Darkling is the third book in Yasmine Galenorn's Otherworld series. This time, it is youngest sister Menolly's turn to tell her story. Just like her older sisters, Menolly D'Artigo has special powers. However, hers do not come so much from being half-Fae as from being turned into a vampire on a mission for the Otherworld Intelligence Agency. Even though she is now a demon, Menolly tries to live her life on the up and up, only drinking from perverts and criminals and vowing never to sire another vampire.

Disoriented at first from her sire Dredge's torture, Menolly has finally come to accept her vampirism. However, bad memories surface when newborn vampires start popping up all over Seattle. Menolly knows it is the work of Dredge, who may just be in league with Shadow Wing, the demon her family and friends have been trying to locate since coming Earthside. As Faerie-Human Crime Scene Investigation units dig deeper into the vampire killings, it seems that someone other than Shadow Wing might be behind Dredge's murderous rampage. In order to save her family and friends, Menolly must severe her ties to Dredge and do something she vowed never to do.

Darkling is a little darker than Galenorn's previous Otherworld novels, but this is to be expected knowing Menolly's backstory. The youngest D'Artigo sister has many demons she must face both external and internal and this makes her story a little edgier than her sisters' adventures. However, having to face such a horrendous past means that Menolly's journey throughout the novel is more complex than the ones her sisters took, something that always makes for a compelling read.

Once again, Yasmine Galenorn has done a wonderful job of crafting a paranormal romance, even if Menolly's story is not quite as romantic as Delilah's or as steamy as Camille's. Also, though Darkling completes the D'Artigo sisters' stories, there is still more in store for this feisty trio from Otherworld. The next book in the series, Dragon Wytch, starts the cycle again with Camille at the reins.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews