Select one of the keywords
The Devil's Temptation    by Kimberly Logan order for
Devil's Temptation
by Kimberly Logan
Order:  USA  Can
Avon, 2007 (2007)
* *   Reviewed by Kim Atchue-Cusella

Lady Maura Daventry has always believed that her mother was murdered by her lover, who then committed suicide. Maura and her sister have lived their lives, conscious of their mother's sins. But now she has acquired her mother's diary, Maura sets out to discover the truth behind the murder. And Gabriel Sutcliff, Earl of Hawksley, the son of her mother's lover, is not a man Lady Maura wants to deal with.

Gabriel seems to turn up at every turn when Lady Maura needs rescuing. He finds himself captivated by her and feels the need to protect her. Gabriel is known as the Devil's Own, because his father was accused of killing Lady Maura's mother and was shunned by society. Lady Maura is frightened of him but she can't seem to fight the attraction between them. He wants to divert her from her mission but in the end, he starts to fall in love with her. Gabriel's offer to help her keeps Lady Maura on edge as she doesn't know if she can trust him.

Though The Devil's Temptation is the second in a series, it stands alone nicely. The sparks fly between Maura and Gabriel, despite the fact that both know that a romance would be difficult. The suspense in the story keeps the reader turning pages, wanting to solve the murder. While the mystery is not resolved in this book, Kimberly Logan has a knack for storytelling that will leave readers anxious for the next in the series.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews