Select one of the keywords
Cherry Cheesecake Murder    by Joanne Fluke order for
Cherry Cheesecake Murder
by Joanne Fluke
Order:  USA  Can
Kensington, 2007 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

The place is Lake Eden, Minnesota. Hannah Swensen, the wonderfully wise and beguiling (with two men vying for her hand) owner of the Cookie Jar, is one of the people present when a man is shot with a prop gun.

Lake Eden becomes a hot spot for a brief period of time as a film crew comes to this small town to create a documentary. When disaster strikes, Hannah is sure there is more to this death than an accident and sets out to prove it. In between, her cat becomes a film star and her niece is cast as the main character when she was a child. The whole town wants to at least cop a bit part. Hannah and her assistant are kept busy providing homemade cookies to keep everyone's strength up.

Cherry Cheesecake Murder is a delightful story - if murder can ever be considered fun - with characters who have depth and understanding. Hannah's beaus are at each other's throats until they find they must join ranks - only to find there is another man out there who might have his eye on her. The bonus with the books in this series is the recipes scattered throughout, with scrumptious sounding names and ingredients. Fourteen dessert and cookie recipes are yours for the baking with this episode.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews