Select one of the keywords
Arizona Dreams: A David Mapstone Mystery    by Jon Talton order for
Arizona Dreams
by Jon Talton
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2006 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

A woman claiming to be a former student of retired history professor (now Phoenix deputy) David Mapstone's appears in his office with a request that he check out whether her father really murdered someone forty years ago. This necessitates a visit to a site in the Arizona desert near Phoenix. All this accomplishes is a beating by two men who claim to have been hired to keep people off that land. Thus starts a wild ride through murder, mayhem, deception and corruption.

It is clear that author Jon Talton is concerned about the ecology of the desert and the demands being made upon limited water resources. He weaves this concern carefully into his story, making it an important factor in his tale. David's wife, Lindsey Faith Mapstone, is also in law enforcement and meets a man with an ice pick in his ear. He's dead, of course. But the plot thickens as another man turns up at a casino, also with an ice pick in his ear! The plot thickens even more as David and Lindsey follow a trail of clues. To complicate matters, Lindsey's estranged sister appears out of the blue to cause more problems than they need at that moment.

To reveal more of this tightly woven plot would not be fair. Take my word for it. Your time will be well spent with a fine plot, great action, characters you can really get a handle on (like them or not, they all have a solid place in the story) and the author's sincere concern for the welfare of the Arizona Desert.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews