Select one of the keywords
April Fool Dead: A Death on Demand Mystery    by Carolyn Hart order for
April Fool Dead
by Carolyn Hart
Order:  USA  Can
Avon, 2003 (2002)
Hardcover, Paperback

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

In April Fool Dead, the reader returns to the South Carolina Island of Broward's Rock and Annie Darling's bookstore for another intricately plotted mystery in the Death on Demand series.

A book signing by the island resident mystery writer looms. Leaflets have been distributed touting the event - but counterfeit leaflets have appeared accusing various island dwellers of felonious crimes. A friend of Annie's is found shot to death in her home. Annie's natural inclination is to investigate and she's off and running - against her perfect husband's wishes. When his mother Laurel mysteriously disappears, he changes his mind and together they manage to bring the story to a satisfactory ending.

Carolyn Hart's mysteries are always peppered with names of other mystery authors and their protagonists. Her knowledge of the genre is impressive. Her writing is even more so. She delivers a tight story with likable characters, who may be just a little too likable. But they always fit the tale she has conjured from her imagination. Fun books.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews