Select one of the keywords
Dead Man's Wake: Mike Bowditch #14    by Paul Doiron order for
Dead Man's Wake
by Paul Doiron
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2023 (2023)
Hardcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Dead Man's Wake follows Hatchet Island as the fourteenth in Paul Doiron's outstanding series starring Maine game warden Mike Bowditch. Doiron brings different aspects of the spectacular Maine wilderness to life for the reader.

This time, the setting is a lake dubbed Golden Pond by locals. Mike Bowditch and Stacey Stevens are celebrating their engagement at a small party hosted by Mike's stepdad Neil at his lake house in central Maine. Stacey's parents are also there. Mike and Stacey are outside when they hear a collision on the lake.

Mike suspects a speedboat hit-and-run, and investigates, finding a severed arm at the scene. A dive team recovers two naked corpses - that of Kip Whitcomb, husband of the very wealthy owner of an island home. Whitcomb was there with a married woman, not his wife. Her husband was a violent biker.

Complications abound, including a woman who claims to have heard a fight between the victims, and the lake's ambitious young constable who has a chip on his shoulder. Another killing follows, and Mike soon has a target on his own back. To readers' relief, he survives yet another close shave. This series is on my must read list, highly recommended!

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews