Select one of the keywords
Creation Machine: Spin Trilogy #1    by Andrew Bannister order for
Creation Machine
by Andrew Bannister
Order:  USA  Can
Bantam, 2019 (2012)
Hardcover, Softcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Andrew Bannister's Creation Machine is the first in his Spin Trilogy, set in a vast, artificial galaxy, whose beginnings involved machines and artificial intelligences with abilities far beyond those of the humans who now inhabit the region.

The power politics between different regions of the Spin reminded me most of the machinations of House Harkonnen in Frank Herbert's Dune. Bannister moves his story back and forth between their Macchiavellian plots - and the brutal slavery and slaughter associated with them - and the efforts of a resistance group. The villains of the piece ultimately seek control of a machine from the Spin's origins.

In particular, readers follow the actions of young Fleare Hass, who ran away from her very powerful, hated father Viklun (who owns half the Spin), to join the rebellion. The story opens three years later with her rescue from imprisonment (and slow starvation) at The Monastery on Obel.

She's rescued by Muz, who was changed into a powerful 'floating talking cloud' in the battle in which Fleare was captured. She has been changed too, having volunteered after joining the rebellion to accept permanent modifications for enhanced strength, speed and stamina. After her rescue, she and Muz reunite with old friends, under constant pursuit and regular attacks.

Though it's a very complicated plot, it does come together at the end, in which the worst of the bad guys get their due, and some of the good guys survive (in unexpected ways) to continue the story.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more SF books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews