Select one of the keywords
All the Missing Girls    by Megan Miranda order for
All the Missing Girls
by Megan Miranda
Order:  USA  Can
Simon & Schuster, 2016 (2016)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

All the Missing Girls, a noir psychological mystery by Megan Miranda, unfolds over two weeks in reverse chronological order, as a cold case that has haunted many is gradually resolved, at least for some.

Nicolette Farrell left Cooley Ridge and Tyler, the boy she loved, ten years before to make a life for herself in Philadelphia after her friend and schoolmate Corinne disappeared. She enjoys her job and is happily engaged to a successful lawyer. But she's left dark secrets behind and expects trouble when she's recalled by her brother to prepare their childhood home for sale and help deal with their father. He's now in a care facility, suffering from dementia, his memory erratic.

The story Nic tells opens on the uncovering of a body and then goes back and forth in time, day by day, to show what led up to that point. There's suspicion, blackmail, the rekindling of an old romance, new accusations of people close to Nic, and the modern disappearance of Corinne's younger sister Annaleise, who has kept many secrets of her own. Underlying all of this are dark memories of troubled teen relationships and risky dares.

If you're looking for something different in a gripping mystery, try All the Missing Girls - and once you finish, you'll probably want to go back and read it all again, to fully appreciate the author's clever development of the story.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews