Select one of the keywords
The Strangled Queen: Accursed Kings #2    by Maurice Druon order for
Strangled Queen
by Maurice Druon
Order:  USA  Can
Harper, 2013 (2013)
* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

If you read the first novel in the Accursed Kings series, The Iron King, you'll certainly wish to get a copy of this second installment.

You'll remember that The Iron King focused on Philip IV. Although he ruled with an iron hand, Philip had a difficult time controlling his own family. Not only were his sons weak but their wives were also adulterous. Eventually a web of scandal, murder and intrigue brought the Iron King down.

In The Strangled Queen, King Philip IV has passed away and the fatal curse of the Knights of Templar plagues the royal house of France. Philip's son, Louis X, is now the monarch and his wife, Marguerite of Burgundy, is imprisoned in Chateau Gaillard. Guilty of a number of transgressions, including infidelity, Marguerite has not produced an heir to the throne but Louis can't marry while Marguerite lives.

Now the scandal, intrigue and problems that ensnared his father are part of Louis' court. It appears that Philip's descendants will continue the downward spiral that began with his reign and the destruction of his dynasty at the hands of fate will continue.

Maurice Druon's previous historical novels were adapted for television and it appears that upon its completion the Accursed Kings series will have a similar fate. If you enjoy historical fiction, this is a must read.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Historical books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews