Select one of the keywords
Vengeance Is Mine    by Douglas MacKinnon order for
Vengeance Is Mine
by Douglas MacKinnon
Order:  USA  Can
Simon & Schuster, 2012 (2010)
Hardcover, Softcover
* * *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Vengeance Is Mine is author Douglas MacKinnon's second book, the first being Rolling Pennies in the Dark, a memoir.

This one is a thriller in every sense of the word. Not only does the man write a gripping tale but he expounds on life in general. Maybe general is too mild a word. He has definite thoughts on how the United States is run and about Massachusetts in particular. His words make one sit up and take notice - and also feel guilty for not voicing our own concerns.

Ian Wallace, an ex-CIA agent with twenty-years experience in the field, left the agency when he was forced to watch a KGB agent shoot the love of his life and their unborn child. Now a private detective, he is approached by an old friend still in the CIA to help capture the very KGB agent who shot his loved ones and ended his life as he knew it.

His CIA friend offers him forty thousand to guard a very unlikable professor at MIT who is working on a project for the defense of the United States. Ivanchenko, the monster who shot Wallace's future wife, is after this professor and Ian must guard him.

The story picks up even more speed here. As readers we want Ivanchenko brought down. But who will win in this gripping plot? I won't tell but I will say Vengeance Is Mine is well worth the read.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews