Select one of the keywords
Christmas Mourning    by Margaret Maron order for
Christmas Mourning
by Margaret Maron
Order:  USA  Can
Grand Central, 2010 (2010)
* * *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

The death of a young teenager in a car accident is tragic at any time, but when it happens near Christmas, it can taint the season for her family always. Mallory Johnson dies in a one car accident after a party. Her dad refuses to believe his daughter was drinking. He's sure someone spiked her drink, causing the accident. Soon afterwards, it becomes known that Vicodan is missing from the house Mallory had just left.

Deputy Sherriff Dwight Bryant investigates while his wife Judge Deborah Knott asks questions of her extensive family members. When an obvious murder of two brothers occurs, Dwight turns his resources to solving that crime.

Meanwhile, Dwight and Deborah are celebrating their first anniversary and a family Christmas that includes Cal, Dwight's son from his first marriage.

Christmas Mourning is book sixteen of this long running mystery series and it is still as fresh as when Deborah Knott was introduced in Bootlegger's Daughter in 1992. Reading about Deborah's latest adventure in Colleton County, North Carolina is like visiting family.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews