Select one of the keywords
Sudden Fury: The Last Gunfighter    by William W. Johnstone order for
Sudden Fury
by William W. Johnstone
Order:  USA  Can
Pinnacle, 2009 (2009)
Paperback, e-Book

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

The legend of Frank Morgan continues as the gunfighter ventures out to California where he is offered $10,000 to end the reign of terror of a creature known as The Terror of the Redwoods.

The Drifter, as Frank is known, doesn't hold with the stories of a supernatural creature creating chaos in the redwood forests around Eureka. With a timber baron offering a huge bounty to anyone who will bring him the head of the man-beast, the area has attracted some pretty trigger-happy individuals. But Frank never expected to find an old boyhood buddy among those combing the woods hoping to make their fortunes.

Unfortunately, this won't be a pleasant reunion and before the unpleasantness that has gripped this far northern, coastal section of the Golden State ends, Frank will discover exactly who is true friends really are.

A bloody tale, Sudden Fury has some surprising twists that make this one of the better novels in the long running series. If you have saddled up with The Drifter in the past, you certainly won't want to miss the opportunity to accompany him into the awesome and dangerous redwood forests of Northern California, where mysterious creatures are said to dwell.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Historical books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews