Select one of the keywords
Elena Woman of Courage: A Family Saga in Bear Lake, Idaho    by Linda Weaver Clarke order for
Elena Woman of Courage
by Linda Weaver Clarke
Order:  USA  Can
Bedside Books, 2009 (2009)
* *   Reviewed by Kim Atchue-Cusella

John Roberts, son of Melinda and Gilbert Roberts is one of the most eligible bachelors in town but when a relationship becomes serious, John takes off. Melinda just wants to see him happy and settled down. The first time John sees Elena Yeates, he is amazed by her beauty. He feels a flutter in his heart every time he sees her. But Elena wants nothing to do with him.

Elena is the town's first woman doctor but some people are not happy about a woman being a physician. They do not like change. The first time Elena meets John at the store she can't believe that he is not only staring at her but also blocking the doorway so she can't get out. She finds him very rude.

When Elena sees John at the dance she doesn’t want to partner with him. But she soon realizes that she has judged him unfairly. She listens to his explanations and is ashamed about jumping to conclusions. He's not that bad even though he does seem to tease her quite a bit. They become closer after Elena helps find a missing child, Caroline. Elena is falling in love with John, but she has heard that he will not settle down and is heartbroken when he decides to go away.

Elena Woman of Courage is a wonderful book full of history, passion and romance, as well as a touch of suspense and humor. The characters are matched perfectly and it is sweet to watch romance develop between John and Elena, as well as catching up with Melinda and Gilbert. This was the last of five books in the series and it has been a joy to watch the family grow and prosper.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews